You are currently viewing How Many Islands Makeup Hawaii?

How Many Islands Makeup Hawaii?

  • Post category:Makeup
  • Post last modified:May 7, 2023
  • Reading time:11 mins read

Hawaii is an archipelago made up of 8 main islands and 124 islets, reefs and shoals. The 8 main islands are the island of Hawaii (the Big Island), Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau and Kahoolawe. All these individual land masses together make up a total land area of 6497 square miles.

With over 130 volcanic peaks in the chain they form some spectacular backdrops for some breathtaking scenery. Each island has its own unique characteristics that attract visitors from all over the world to experience one or more of these beautiful Hawaiian Islands each year.

Hawaii is made up of a total of 132 islands, although only 8 are considered to be main islands. These 8 main islands include Hawaii (the Big Island), Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai and Niihau. All of the other 124 are smaller in size and they range from tiny sand bars that appear during low tide to remote atolls located hundreds of miles away from the closest landmass.

The geography of the Hawaiian Islands is incredibly diverse with each island possessing its own unique characteristics and features!

How Many Islands Makeup Hawaii?


How Many Main Islands Make Up Hawaii?

Hawaii is composed of eight main islands, which are Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe and the Big Island of Hawaii. These islands span 1,500 miles across the Pacific Ocean from the island of Hawaii in the east to Niihau in the west. The eight main Hawaiian Islands can be divided into three distinct regions: the Hawaiian Archipelago or “The Chain”; The Windward Islands including Maui County ; and The Leeward Islands including Oahu and Kauai.

Each region has its own unique climate and culture that have developed over time due to their geographic location as well as their proximity to each other. On top of these 8 main islands there are a few additional atolls (reefs) such as French Frigate Shoals located northwest of Honolulu and Pearl & Hermes Reef situated southwest of Kauaʻi. All together they make up a total land area just over 6500 square miles making it one of the most geographically diverse states in America!

What are the 7 Hawaiian Islands Called?

The Hawaiian Islands are made up of seven major islands and many smaller islets. These seven main islands are known as the ‘Big Island’, Oahu, Maui, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai and Niihau. Each island has its unique beauty that makes it stand out from the rest.

The Big Island is home to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park where you can witness an active volcano in action. Oahu is a popular destination for tourists due to its sandy beaches and lively nightlife in Waikiki Beach area. It also houses Pearl Harbor National Monument which hosts famous battleship USS Arizona Memorial Museum.

Maui is well-known for its stunningly beautiful beaches like Kaanapali beach and Kapalua Bay beach; while neighboring island of Lanai boasts some of the best snorkeling opportunities in all of Hawaii with breathtaking coral reefs filled with marine life. Kauai offers diverse landscape ranging from Na Pali Coastland cliffs to serene Hanalei Valley making it a must-visit destination on any Hawaiian holiday list! Further down south lies Molokai known as “the friendly Isle” offering great views over Kalaupapa Peninsula national park along with some small remote villages that still preserve ancient traditions such as Hula dance performances on special occasions!

Lastly we have Niihau – sometimes referred to as “Forbidden Island” since visitors are only allowed here if they have been invited by one of the native Hawaiians living there!

How Many Islands are There Currently in the Hawaiian Island Chain?

The Hawaiian island chain is a stunning and beautiful part of the United States, home to some of the most breathtaking and picturesque beaches in the world. The archipelago consists of eight major islands, which are Hawaii (the Big Island), Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau and Kahoolawe. In addition to these eight main islands there are several smaller ones such as Kaho’olawe and Molokini.

This makes for a total of 132 islands that make up what we know today as the Hawaiian Islands. These islands range from small reefs to large mountains with lush rainforests covering their slopes. Although not all of them are inhabited by humans they still have an incredible amount of flora and fauna living on them making it truly unique within our own planet’s ecosystem.

So if you ever find yourself lucky enough to visit this amazing group of landmasses be sure to take in everything that it has to offer!

How Many Islands in Hawaii are Uninhabitable?

Hawaii is a paradise for many. With beautiful beaches, stunning views, and an amazing culture, it’s no wonder why so many flock to this tropical oasis. But did you know that Hawaii has more than its fair share of uninhabitable islands?

There are actually eight uninhabited islands located within the Hawaiian archipelago: Nihoa Island, Necker Island, Gardner Pinnacles, French Frigate Shoals, Lisianski Island Laysan Island Maro Reef and Kure Atoll. These eight isolated pieces of land make up about 0.2% of the total area covered by all the Hawaiian Islands combined! Even though these remote locations may not be ideal vacation spots – they’re still home to some incredible wildlife such as monk seals and green sea turtles – they still remain important parts in Hawaii’s history and culture.

While humans may never inhabit these outer-lying areas again – if ever – their presence serves as reminder that nature can thrive even without human intervention.

How Many Islands In Hawaii? | Living In Hawaii

How Many Islands in Hawaii Can You Visit

Hawaii is made up of eight main islands that can be visited as a tourist: Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Maui, the Big Island (Hawaii), Kahoolawe and Niihau. Each island has its own unique charm, from incredible beaches to lush jungles and volcanoes. Visitors to Hawaii can explore all the islands for an unforgettable vacation experience.


In conclusion, Hawaii is a beautiful and diverse archipelago that is made up of 8 main islands. From the lush rainforests of Kauai to the black sand beaches of Maui, each island has something unique to offer visitors. Whether you’re looking for an adventure-filled getaway or just a relaxing vacation spot, Hawaii offers something for everyone.

With its stunning views and endless activities, it’s no wonder why this tropical paradise continues to captivate travelers around the world.